Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Irish Trees & other trees grown in Ireland

Hi to all from a complete novice..Leylandi for privacy

Most Recent Posts funny
Last post: Sue Deacon
2016 Vegetable quizz.
Last post: Sue Deacon
oops
Last post: Margo
Skimmia seed wanted
Last post: Brendankearns

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
earnie
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 1:51 pm    Post subject: Hi to all from a complete novice..Leylandi for privacy Reply with quote

Hi there, can I just start by saying I have looked at this website so much lately and am well impressed with you all.....we should be moving into our newly built home in October ( fingers crossed!!).. It is on nearly two acres but we will try and only develop half of it to begin with (maybe put a donkey and goat on the other half??).
I understand that we need to live on the site for a while to get a feel for the place and where plants, shrubs, washing line etc should go. My question is about planting trees and hedges. We will have a rather large house being built in a neighbouring field and would like to create a bit of privacy, when is it advisable to plant?? Is Leylandi the fastest growing option?????

Thanks
GarethAustin
Rank attained: Rowan Tree

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello and welcome to the forum.
James Kilkelly

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2007 9:23 am    Post subject: Re: Hi to all from a complete novice.. Leylandi for privacy Reply with quote

earnie wrote: