Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Alpines and rockery perennial plants ... Your rockery in Ireland.

Propagating alpine plants

Most Recent Posts ...What did you do Today...
Last post: tagwex
Garden Makeover- absolute beginner
Last post: Sue Deacon
ID for tree?
Last post: Sue Deacon
What is this plant guys
Last post: lammax

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
inishindie
Rank attained: Tree plantation keeper

PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2007 9:47 pm    Post subject: Propagating alpine plants Reply with quote

ALPINE SEEDS
If you are feeling adventurous then try collecting seeds from alpines to grow in your own garden. Some of the seeds need nature to take care of them so put them in a pot, label them and put them in a sheltered spot away from slugs. Some might germinate quickly but others need a frosting before they appear. Alpine plants are one of the easiest plants to grow from cuttings. If you see any plants you like the look of then cut off a couple of small pieces of stem with a node on it and push it into compost. Be careful if you try this in garden centres or parks as you could get arrested for stealing. Stick to friends' gardens!

GarethAustin
Rank attained: Rowan Tree
Rank attained: Rowan Tree

PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2007 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You wouldn't believe how many people we stop from taking cuttings from plants in the garden centre!
ormondsview
Rank attained: Silver Birch Tree

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 1:51 am    Post subject: sedums are easy to grow Reply with quote