Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Landscaping / Gardening Ireland, Overall discussion & Garden related News.

Garden Makeover- absolute beginner

Most Recent Posts Hello
Last post: Sue Deacon
What is this plant please
Last post: Sue Deacon
Amelanchier
Last post: Good guy
Prime Seaweed (Availability) Conditions?
Last post: Gautama

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
Skipperjen
Rank attained: Hazel Tree
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Tue Jun 27, 2017 11:03 am    Post subject: Garden Makeover- absolute beginner Reply with quote

Hey Guys, I've taken a brief look through the previous posts but can't find anything too specific to help.
We have a medium sized garden (9.5m x 7.1m) and we've had a few quotes for landscaping works, but they are quite far from our budget. WE're considering doing some/ all of the works ourselves and would love your thoughts.
We have a significant drainage issue with our garden, in that when it rains, even for just a small period of time the water doesn't drain off anywhere and we're left with soggy grass that you can't really walk on. It's also really quite uneven so mowing and keeping it neat is a nightmare for us.
We're planning on paving a portion of the back and one side and then using artificial grass on the remaining portion.

My main query is, how far down should we dig out in order to assist with our drainage? We intend on taking out a portion of the soil, infilling with stone and putting a top layer of soil or sand on top of this before paving or grass.

Thanks in advance for any responses/ advice.
tagwex
Rank attained: Chlorophyll for blood

PostPosted: Tue Jun 27, 2017 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Skipperjen and welcome.