Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Landscaping / Gardening Ireland, Overall discussion & Garden related News.

Cats and Gardening

Most Recent Posts ...What did you do Today...
Last post: tagwex
Garden Makeover- absolute beginner
Last post: Sue Deacon
ID for tree?
Last post: Sue Deacon
What is this plant guys
Last post: lammax

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
Ruby
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:53 pm    Post subject: Cats and Gardening Reply with quote

Id appreciate any practical advice from gardeners with pet cats as Im about to get kittens.

The 200 sqM outdoor area is primarily divided into rockery beds for shrubs and perennials along with a 5x9M vegetable patch so Im wondering what kind of damage kittens/cats will do.

Researching online was no help as articles are either written by cat lovers who propose redesigning the garden to suit the cats or by gardeners who want to keep cats away at all costs. Both give the impression that raising a cat and maintaining garden is a major problem, which seems absurd but has made me reconsider whether I should be getting kittens.

Some context:
I have no problem with low level damage such as cats lying on comfy heathers to get some sun. I have a problem with flowers and veg that wont grow because of disturbance by cats.

The cats will eventually live outdoors with their own house, an outdoor litter tray, and climbing and scratching areas in the form of stacked wood piles. I hope training the kittens to use an outdoor little tray will keep them out of the veg patch.