Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Irish Lawns and grass care

Horrible weed-infested spotty lawn

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Most Recent Posts ...What did you do Today...
Last post: tagwex
Garden Makeover- absolute beginner
Last post: Sue Deacon
ID for tree?
Last post: Sue Deacon
What is this plant guys
Last post: lammax

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
mllejules
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2017 1:28 pm    Post subject: Horrible weed-infested spotty lawn Reply with quote

Hi,

I have inherited a really bad looking lawn with the house I am renting in Malahide. It is a new build, so unfortunately, itís a mess. The soil is a little stony, but in general does not seem to be bad quality, or over-compacted, having done some digging in it. It is, however, very lumpy and uneven at the surface, which made mowing a very hard job. What grass there is is very patchy. It gets a lot of sun except at edges where high-ish walls keep it in shade.

I have bought some lawn seed and lawn care in various mixes. The one I used first promised to kill weeds and plush up the grass. I applied super carefully and evenly and wetted it, following all directions. Two weeks later I intended to apply again, but the lawn actually looks worse. There is far less grass, and itís simply taken over by weeds. Prickly thistles and couch grass (or something similar) abound, nettles hide at the edges, goosegrass/cleavers, ramping-fumitory, and I have already cleared by hand a huge network of what I think was wild vetch in a mulched area. I may have misidentified some and there are others that I havenít identified yet.