Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Vegetable growing, fruit and allotments in Ireland

Mypex / do dig garden

Most Recent Posts Garden Makeover- absolute beginner
Last post: tippben
...What did you do Today...
Last post: tagwex
ID for tree?
Last post: Sue Deacon
What is this plant guys
Last post: lammax

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
vincent71
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 8:52 pm    Post subject: Mypex / do dig garden Reply with quote

Hi folks, I want to try the no dig method for my vegetables and I was going to use mypex to cover the potatoes. I've planted them 4" below the surface. Have any of you used mypex to cover the spuds instead of earthing them up. If so how did it go ?

Vin

tagwex
Rank attained: Chlorophyll for blood

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There was some religious nut on here about two years ago about the no dig method, bored us all to tears. Must put up a link back to it in the morning. Might change your mind. My one comment is that your spuds should be much deeper as you will get more of a crop. Covering the stalks with soil equals more of a crop. How are you going to do that with mypex in the way?
PS. Did Wexford beat Kilkenny recently?

This boy can really sing http://youtu.be/Dgv78D2duBE
Blowin
Rank attained: Vegetable garden tender

PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2017 5:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, Vincent! Ignore our racist friend. He can't help it.