Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Vegetable growing, fruit and allotments in Ireland

Planting veg in garden with septic tank

Most Recent Posts Quiet times
Last post: Good guy
At last! A garden joke. (except maybe it's not a joke!)
Last post: Sue Deacon
Creamy Roasted Garlic and Mushroom Soup
Last post: Sue Deacon
Ancient human remains found of the first politician
Last post: marlin vs

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
David B Mitchell
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:49 am    Post subject: Planting veg in garden with septic tank Reply with quote

Hi all. I'm completely new to gardening and just doing my research before I start. I have been reading lots of books and Google searches and just wanted advice on growing veg in my large back south facing garden.
I have a septic tank and drainage pipe running across garden so I don't want to chance bacteria or chemicals in my food so I will go polytunnel and high raised beds. I would love to grow near my tank too as is perfect spot.
My question is how do I line my beds I. E. Weed barrier or plastic or whatever and how high do I go t have no chance of contamination. Is it possible to have a raised beds near enough to tank and still be 100% safe by making them a certain way.
Thanks in advance for any info, also do like minded veg hobby growers meets take place ☺
Sue Deacon
Rank attained: Chlorophyll for blood

PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2016 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I may be being a bit dim (no comment Tagwex) but I would have thought that unless the pipes and tank were old or badly fitting that there would be no problems along the length of the pipes.