Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Introduce yourself to the rest of the Irish gardeners

American with a question

Most Recent Posts oops
Last post: Margo
funny
2016 Vegetable quizz.
Skimmia seed wanted
Last post: Brendankearns

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
CDBaker
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 3:13 pm    Post subject: American with a question Reply with quote

Hi: I'm an American writer recently returned from your lovely County Cork. (Sept 2-5) While there, I was quite taken by the wildflowers covering many of the hillsides by the sea near Kinsale. However, I can't identify them. I've attached a photo in the hopes that someone may be able to help me. Thank you!

IMG_0452.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  532.89 KB
 Viewed:  2983 Time(s)

IMG_0452.jpg

IMG_0389.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  638.61 KB
 Viewed:  2983 Time(s)

IMG_0389.jpg

medieval knievel
Rank attained: Chlorophyll for blood

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The spiky stuff with the yellow flowers is gorse - did you notice a coconutty smell?
Greengage

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bet you didnt lie down in that to get the smell, ls known as Gorse, Furze or whin depending on which part of the country you come from. If your interested in wild flowers check out this site http://www.wildflowersofireland.net/ she also has a good facebook page and recently published an excellent book on Irish wildflowers. and we are not related.
Good guy

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote