Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Herb growing in Ireland

Growing parsley from seed.

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Most Recent Posts Garden Makeover- absolute beginner
Last post: tagwex
...What did you do Today...
Last post: tagwex
ID for tree?
Last post: Sue Deacon
What is this plant guys
Last post: lammax

Visit TheGardenShop.ie

What's your favourite herb?
Mint
42%
 42%  [ 3 ]
Parsley
14%
 14%  [ 1 ]
Thyme
14%
 14%  [ 1 ]
Oregano
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Other
28%
 28%  [ 2 ]
Total Votes : 7

Olwas2013
Rank attained: Hawthorn Tree

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 7:59 pm    Post subject: Growing parsley from seed. Reply with quote

I filled an old rectangular Supervalu cake tin with compost. I sowed the seeds without soaking or anything. I then covered them with a very thin layer of compost and closed the lid. I poked some small holes for air. I an thinking that this will act as some sort of greenhouse for the seeds to provide warmth. Am I doing everything right. How long will it take the seeds to sprout? Thank you, Olly.
Margo
Rank attained: Chlorophyll for blood

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've never had much success growing parsley from seed. So I've always bought a pot in the supermarket and you get loads of plants in one pot.
Olwas2013

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks anyone have any more success
Kim
Rank attained: Rowan Tree

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I grew parsley from seed once, I cannot remember the method for parsley, sorry.