Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Plant Propagation, increasing your stock of plants in Ireland.

First attempt at propagating cuttings..

Most Recent Posts funny
Last post: tagwex
Skimmia seed wanted
Last post: Brendankearns
At last! A garden joke. (except maybe it's not a joke!)
Last post: Ado 2
2016 Vegetable quizz.
Last post: Greengage

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
Virtus
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 10:45 pm    Post subject: First attempt at propagating cuttings.. Reply with quote

Hi there,

We just removed an old overgrown cryptomeia japonica elegans from our garden today. I have no experience at all with propogating from cuttings but decided, as an experiment, to just give it a go and hope for the best!

I took 50 or so cuttings, about 4 to 6 inches long, and planted them in ordinary multipurpose compost. I didn't have any growth hormone but I have read that honey can also be used to help rooting, whether by acting as a herbicide or as a foodstuff for the plant. Half the plants had their stems dipped in a little manuka honey and the other half just went straight in after some careful trimming.

I mostly selected the new green shoots and did my best to cut them at a 45 degree angle below the node, remove the spines around the lower stem, etc.

Do you think they'll have any chance at growing?

Is growth/rooting hormone essential for propogation? I imagine gardeners in the past could quite successfully propogate cuttings without it.