Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Garden Photo gallery & Plant Identification area

Help identifying this tree please

Most Recent Posts 2016 Vegetable quizz.
Last post: Greengage
At last! A garden joke. (except maybe it's not a joke!)
Last post: Sue Deacon
Skimmia seed wanted
Last post: Brendankearns
funny
Last post: tagwex

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
cocobeanie
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2014 8:06 pm    Post subject: Help identifying this tree please Reply with quote

Hi there,

I am new to Irish Gardeners. I would consider myself a novice gardener. I started out planting vegetables etc in pots when I lived in an apartment but have since developed a love of flowers, plants and trees. Moved into a house about two years ago and this lovely tree was already there. Wondering if you could help me to identify it. I will attach a few pictures.

Thanks.

photo2.PNG
 Description:
Tree
 Filesize:  529.45 KB
 Viewed:  5046 Time(s)

photo2.PNG

photo1.PNG
 Description:
tree
 Filesize:  494.53 KB

photo1.PNG

photo3.PNG
 Description:
 Filesize:  457.45 KB

photo3.PNG

Silver surfer
Rank attained: Native hedgerow keeper

PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2014 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to the forums cocobeanie.

Looks like Salix sp...a Willow tree.
These are the male flowers...called catkins
cocobeanie

PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2014 9:17 pm    Post subject: Thank you Reply with quote

Thanks a million Silver Surfer.