Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Vegetable growing, fruit and allotments in Ireland

Pressure treated or untreated timber for raised beds???

Most Recent Posts Christmas reading.
Last post: Greengage
2016 Vegetable quizz.
Last post: Greengage
At last! A garden joke. (except maybe it's not a joke!)
Last post: Sue Deacon
Skimmia seed wanted
Last post: Brendankearns

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
Ray and Fiona
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 9:42 am    Post subject: Pressure treated or untreated timber for raised beds??? Reply with quote

I'm just about to purchase timber to make my raised beds and I'm not sure of what timber to get. This is my first time to try raised beds so I've no experience in what to use.

We will primarily be growing vegatables. If I get untreated timber how long will they last? Is there a way that I can get more life out of them without having to get treated timber? Is there an organic treatment that I can give to untreated timber to extend life?

All help would be appreciated.

Regards,

Ray.
Lius
Rank attained: Silver Birch Tree

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used 16ft lengths of 6" x 2" timber planks 12 in B&Q, cheapest in Dublin. When you cut the planks exactly into halves and then quarters you get 4ft x 8ft beds. 4ft is the maximum width recommended as you can only reach in 2ft. I left 2ft between the beds for walking and laid weed control fabric with gravel on top.

I built my beds all 12" high (two planks high) so I can put root crops in any bed to allow full crop rotation between all beds. If you are not going to plant Spuds or Carrots etc. then 6" high will do fine.