Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search
   
Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Landscaping / Gardening Ireland, Overall discussion & Garden related News.

Our Garden Centres are Struggling


Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Most Recent Posts Fountain
Last post: vulkan
The spout!!!
Last post: ponddigger
stream and pond on a sloped site
Last post: ponddigger
Colocasia Alocasia
Last post: vincent71
 
Visit TheGardenShop.ie
Author Message
Geranimojess
Rank attained: Chlorophyll for blood


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 1403
Location: N/W Sligo

PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Margo wrote:
What a shame its 3 hours away.


There is such a thing as a Romantic Weekend / Overnight away...ignoring the fact that its a pure coincidence that one or more Garden Centers just happened to be on Route...ought to be no problem to a Female to arrange... Wink Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Geranimojess
Rank attained: Chlorophyll for blood


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 1403
Location: N/W Sligo

PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sive...when you started this Thread I know I put you on a downer but it was not personal...but we're now on page 3 and several good replies have opened up new hope for some Garden Centers with good reviews and some not so good.

If this trend could continue { I'm keeping a note of these Centers if I'm in the Areas } it might come to the attention of some Owners and may act as an " Eye Opener " so some good could still come from your Thread.

Who is your Local in Wexford ...I used a Center in Camolin but I'm not sure if it's there still...that was in the early 80's
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sive
Rank attained: Chlorophyll for blood


Joined: 18 Apr 2008
Posts: 1731
Location: Co.Wexford

PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't worry at all.....I was just making a general point about supporting local businesses ( particularly family-run ones ), but it goes without saying that I wouldn't feel obliged to support any business if I felt I wasn't getting good service.
There are a couple of convenient Garden Centres in this area, both family-run.....one in Camolin, called Cois na hAbhann, and one south of Gorey called Springmount. They both try really hard to serve their communities and let's face it, we've had difficult weather over the last 3 or 4 years, which has affected all garden sales and it can't be easy for them to keep afloat.
Camolin also has a very good specialist plant nursery called the Potting Shed, worth visiting if you want interesting perennials.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ormondsview
Rank attained: Silver Birch Tree
Rank attained: Silver Birch Tree


Joined: 17 Jun 2009
Posts: 188
Location: Kenmare, Co. Kerry

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2013 10:03 am    Post subject: recommended Kenmare nursery Reply with quote

I highly recommend Willow Field http://kenmare.eu/willowfield/ garden centre. People were looking for lavender which can be hard to establish and find the right spot for. It's my favorite, reminding me of France whenever I see and smell it.
Support your local merchant; otherwise you'll not have the better stock or options to run for advice from professionals if they go under. Circulate your money in the town instead of sending it to the bigger merchants.
That said, value can be found by getting a bit of rooting hormone and starting cuttings. Marigolds are great seeders, so I can start a batch of new ones during the season. Same with nasturtiums.
This year I'm putting in more purple hued shrubs like Ninebark. They are stunning in the fall, hardy, have no pests and lovely healthy looking leaves http://www.johnstowngardencentre.ie/physocarpus-lady-in-red---devil-ninebark/physocarpus_ladypd.aspx
For shaping in more formal look, the holly is brilliant. It grows from cuttings, is fun to shape and rewards doubly if trimmed to suit a manicured look. Much cheaper than the box hedging plant. Which also does well for the bones of the garden. It too grows as a cutting.
So, buy from your local vender.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Geranimojess
Rank attained: Chlorophyll for blood


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 1403
Location: N/W Sligo

PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2013 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just back home from my weekly visit to my Plant man George in Ballyshannon... Purchased 8 assorted Perennial Plants all well established for 20....OK it was Bucketing rain and the crowds were not exactly tripping over each other but the sacrifices we go through for a bargain... Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mountainy man
Rank attained: Hawthorn Tree
Rank attained: Hawthorn Tree


Joined: 18 Apr 2010
Posts: 83
Location: south east sligo

PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2013 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Geranimojess wrote:
Just back home from my weekly visit to my Plant man George in Ballyshannon... Purchased 8 assorted Perennial Plants all well established for 20....OK it was Bucketing rain and the crowds were not exactly tripping over each other but the sacrifices we go through for a bargain... Laughing


Sounds like really good value, can you give me an idea of what sort of plants he sells, I need to see if a trip from down here is worth it (plus sunday mornings in bed are precious! ) thanks.

_________________
if you can see the mountain its gonna rain if you can't its allready raining !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Geranimojess
Rank attained: Chlorophyll for blood


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 1403
Location: N/W Sligo

PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2013 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi MM...I was onto George about your query and asked if it would be OK for me to give you his Phone Number...he has no problem with that...

You would be able to discuss your needs better...if thats OK I'll PM you his No... let me know if you want to talk to him...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dun Laoghaire Gardener
Rank attained: Hazel Tree
Rank attained: Hazel Tree


Joined: 10 Aug 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Aug 11, 2013 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As a garden shop owner I'm enjoying this thread. Great for me to know what the consumer wants. I would like to say something in defence of the prices at the Garden centre though.

Most nursery's are operating on land they own so they don't have high rents to pay, and if they don't own the land they are usually situated away from the high street from where the garden centre tend to dominate and where rents and rates are high. So from a cost point of view i think its unfair to do a like for like judgement.

I don't personally mind nurseries selling to the public as i think it is generally hardcore gardeners who they attract, the garden centre doesnt and couldnt rely solely on the dedicate gardener. We have to attend to the needs of the 'instant garden' customer as well as the gardening enthusiats. This means we need plants of a certain quality that just cant be bought and sold cheaply when you consider rent, rates, wages, taxes and bills.

I think the nursery and the garden centre cater to different markets and there is room for both to thrive. In saying that, if everybody was just concerned with price and flocked to the nursery over the garden centre i think our towns and city's would be the less for it. Most garden centres are enjoyable places to visit, with cafes and a wide variety of plants on offer all year long. The nursery can't provide this. They tend to be experts in a certain range of plant, say perennials, whats the customer to do when they want bulbs at autumn time? Find another bulb nursery somewhere?

They are two different business models catering for differentcustomers and just because they both sell plants we cant do a like for like judgement on prices. By all means, if you're a keen gardener pop along and support your local nursery - but don't forget your local garden center either, who supplies a wide range of plants, all year round, and who brings cheer to our city's, town's and suburbs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Geranimojess
Rank attained: Chlorophyll for blood


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 1403
Location: N/W Sligo

PostPosted: Sun Aug 11, 2013 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi DLG...Welcome to IG...its nice to hear the other side of the Story but having visited Garden Centres across the Country down the years unfortunately my overall impression is not full of Sympathy for the Trade...

In a lot of cases the Employees are just that " Employees " they have little or no knowledge / interest in their work they are there to take in the Money and to sweep up...{ Cheap Labour ??? } and some service left a lot to be desired.

There are some well managed Centres with Tea Room facilities etc' but at a price 8-12 per average Shrub / Plant...People simply cannot afford that Luxury any more and Garden Centres must realise that...I have never seen a Garden Centre having a " Sale " even in the " Off Season " and instead of trying to attract Customers at that time they still insist on charging the Summer prices...not very Business like.

I feel sorry for the Centre trying to survive but we're all in the same Boat and accordingly we have no option but to Shop around.

I'm sure you have read all the Posts on this Thread anyway other Members have expressed themselves better than I can and the general opinion is that prices are way to high considering the times we are now living in.

Sorry if this is not the response you were hoping for...but until such times as prices are brought down more Centres are going to close.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sive
Rank attained: Chlorophyll for blood


Joined: 18 Apr 2008
Posts: 1731
Location: Co.Wexford

PostPosted: Sun Aug 11, 2013 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Two of my local garden centres have had sales all this past week....one has taken 20% off virtually everything...and this happens ever year ( it can't be that unusual surely ??? ) so maybe you're just unlucky with your local ones GJ.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Geranimojess
Rank attained: Chlorophyll for blood


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 1403
Location: N/W Sligo

PostPosted: Sun Aug 11, 2013 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One main Centre here in Sligo and another on the Sligo/Roscommon Border which I've often visited never had a Sale that I'm aware of in the 7 yrs I'm in Sligo...

Another would have a " Price Reduced " on certain Plants...and we all know that they are Plants they were unable to sell at their original high price hence the reduction...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dun Laoghaire Gardener
Rank attained: Hazel Tree
Rank attained: Hazel Tree


Joined: 10 Aug 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="Geranimojess"]
Quote:
Hi DLG...Welcome to IG...its nice to hear the other side of the Story but having visited Garden Centres across the Country down the years unfortunately my overall impression is not full of Sympathy for the Trade...


Hey just to clarify, i am in no way attached to the DYG garden shop. I used the dun laoghaire gardener to try hide where our shop is because dun laoghaire is the area i grew up in that's all. Although i haven't been in dun laoghaire town for quiet a while I know the garden centres all around that area alright but i ain't dyg. I wouldn't want to misrepresent somebodies business. That has to be very clear.

Quote:
In a lot of cases the Employees are just that " Employees " they have little or no knowledge / interest in their work they are there to take in the Money and to sweep up...{ Cheap Labour ??? } and some service left a lot to be desired.


All i can say to that is that i wholeheartedly disagree. Look, of course there are some lazy business owners who run garden centres, that's the case in all sectors but i visit a lot of centres all over the country, to keep an eye on what the competition is doing and i have to say that i have not seen what you are implying happens 'in a lot of cases'. I just don't see what you seem to see.

Who in their right minds who owns a garden shop would employ somebody who doesn't know about plants or isn't willing to learn? Its a specialist sector, we have to have knowledgeable staff. In saying that, i have trained young guys who walked in off the street with no knowledge but an eagerness to learn. They did courses over their time with us and gained the knowledge. Id take a look at the age of those staff members who you say are just sweeping, i bet they are young. The best way of learning is on the job, i learnt everything i know after i left the botanics, on the job. Its an apprentice system that tons of other sectors use.

I'm desperately trying to remember the last time i was in a garden centre and was not impressed with the staff. Totally disagree with this.

Quote:
There are some well managed Centres with Tea Room facilities etc' but at a price 8-12 per average Shrub / Plant...People simply cannot afford that Luxury any more and Garden Centres must realise that..
.

Look i am in no position to tell people what they should or shouldn't buy. I sincerely have not had any problems with that price level in my own shop. Yes the larger plants get comments but the 6.50/8.0 perennial and shrub tend to sell away without any comment. That plant is of a certain age, has been tended to by a lot of people and businesses, has probably come through two other nurseries before it reaches us. Any cheaper and we may as well buy our plants from china.

Is it a race to the bottom? We've got to retain quality and a race to the bottom, or a focus only on price will inevitably mean nurseries cutting corners to achieve a cheaper plant. Its what has happened to the food sector, the price of food is rising at 5% a year because the race to the bottom just wasn't possible in the long term.

People want quality now, and Irish made. That isn't possible at the very low prices you think are possible if businesses are to survive. All the major food retailers are saying, ok you want a better quality product, you have to pay a realistic price for it.

I would hate to see the horticultural sector going down the same route as the food sector did, a race to the bottom, towards horsemeat in burgers etc...Its the same with the clothing industry, you want super cheap clothes? Ok, we have to get cheap labor in china to make them so we as a business can survive.

It's up to garden centres to give the customer value. A high quality plant at a reasonable price is what people want, they don't want the cheapest plant possible. What i'm saying to you is that the prices currently set in garden centres are that price for a reason. Nobody is getting ripped off, and to try to compare a wholesale plant nursery with a retail plant shop is unfair.

Quote:
I have never seen a Garden Centre having a " Sale " even in the " Off Season " and instead of trying to attract Customers at that time they still insist on charging the Summer prices...not very Business like.


Thats simply not true. I am in sale at the moment and so are the majority of garden centres i keep an eye on on facebook and in the surrounding area. Every business needs a sale period, to get rid of old stock. I find it strange you have 'never seen a garden centre having a sale'. I cant explain that, i can just totally disagree. In fact we have two sales a year, and so do most of the garden centres i know of. In August and January.

Quote:
I feel sorry for the Centre trying to survive but we're all in the same Boat and accordingly we have no option but to Shop around.


My point is not that you cant shop around, it was that we cant make a comparison between a wholesale plant nursery and a garden retail shop. Its not like for like, and it is unfair to compare prices. It would be like giving out that super value dont price their goods the same as musgraves do. One is a wholesaler with a totally different structure and costings and the other is a high street retailer. If your point is that we should all shop in musgraves then that's another argument, but you cant compare a plant nursery with a garden centre, it doesn't make sense.

Quote:
I'm sure you have read all the Posts on this Thread anyway other Members have expressed themselves better than I can and the general opinion is that prices are way to high considering the times we are now living in.


My point is not that people are not finding it harder to pay out for plants but that to compare the garden centre with a wholesale plant nursery is doing a disservice to the garden centre which does, in my view offer a great service. I also have to disagree that it is the general opinion as my own shop is seeing an upsurge in sales and we very rarely get a comment on price.

Quote:
Sorry if this is not the response you were hoping for...but until such times as prices are brought down more Centres are going to close.


In fairness, garden centres are not closing. Cerainly not at the rate of other sectors. Maybe the garden centre in the middle of the country is, but if they are in a populated area they seem to be holding their own. Ive seen a few new ones open up actually. We must be doing something right. My own shop is thriving.

As i have said already, the race to the cheapest price is not good for people into plants and gardening. What people want from my own experience in the trade for over ten years is a good quality plant at a reasonable price. I believe i as an independent garden centre am achieving this. Our price strategy allows us to operate as a business, and also brings value to our customer, any cut would seriously hamper our existence and i'm sure the locals who daily come into our centre would hate to see that happen.

I just hate to see a skewed point of view being put across. If somebody has a problem with our prices there is little i can do about that at the moment. Our desire for a quality Irish grown plant means we have to pay a certain prce for it and to operate as a business on the high street we have big costs also. My shop is not the same as a wholesale plant nursery in a remote part of the country and you simply cant compare the prices of the two. In relation to price, we have a loyalty card system in place and i would regularly throw in a free bottle of feed for customers. We offer a high quality plant, and have good highly trained staff who also have to be payed. Our prices are set accordingly, and i can assure you nobody is being ripped off.

On a side note, i can think of more than one specialist nursery whose plants are more expensive than what they are selling at in Garden centres. All is not what it seems Smile
[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Geranimojess
Rank attained: Chlorophyll for blood


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 1403
Location: N/W Sligo

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You've gone into a lot of detail in your response and I'm not going to try and match it word for word...clearly your passionate about your Business and your Livelihood and I've no doubt about your Customers too...you disagreed with practically every statement I made...thats fine your entitled to your opinions...

I made my comments based on my own experiences and nothing else...I have visited some Centres that were clean and the Staff knowledgeable but I paid for that privilege in increased prices way above what I'd describe as reasonable.On several occasions when I made enquiries about suitable plants for Coastal Regions I was either met with a blank stare or was assured they were OK.. only problem was they were not...they all died...

Several other Members have also expressed their dissatisfaction are they all wrong also...I know every Business has its rogues but as long as my Supplier continues to supply my needs at the right Quality and price I will continue to avoid what I consider to be overpriced Garden Centres...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
medieval knievel
Rank attained: Chlorophyll for blood


Joined: 03 Sep 2007
Posts: 1010

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

unfortunately, Gardenworld in Kilquade is closing:

https://www.facebook.com/GardenworldKilquade

it's a terrible pity - it was a good spot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sive
Rank attained: Chlorophyll for blood


Joined: 18 Apr 2008
Posts: 1731
Location: Co.Wexford

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm very sorry to hear that...is that the place that had created lots of individual gardens to showcase plants ? It's years since I've been there, as it's not convenient for me, but I'm always sad to hear of any venture having to close.
Maybe the owners are just retiring ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Landscaping / Gardening Ireland, Overall discussion & Garden related News. All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 

Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

Privacy Policy | Copyright © 2006 - present IrishGardeners.com (part of GardenPlansIreland.com)