Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Introduce yourself to the rest of the Irish gardeners

School garden

Most Recent Posts Garlic problem
Last post: Greengage
funny
Last post: ponddigger
Introduce yoursellf to whom.......................
Last post: Keeks
I'm new here
Last post: tagwex

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
stanlea
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 9:09 am    Post subject: School garden Reply with quote

Hi all,
I am starting an after school gardening club with some of the children I teach. We have a polytunnel and a small bed outside. I've read some previous posts on what may be good to plant. as a novice, I just wanted to check what some of you thought about my selection, and if you could recommend any quick growing fruit/veg so they might see some results before we break up at the end of June. I had been thinking of buying some strawberry plugs (I'm guessing I'm too late for anything from seed now), some herbs and lettuce leaves and maybe turnip, potatoes....? I appreciate any other recommendations or tips. I'll also be around over the summer to water/upkeep, so anything ready in September would be great too. It's in a new school so were starting from scratch, I was thinking of a few mini projects like making a scarecrow, a minibeast area, bird tables, bee/butterfly area...? Any thoughts? Thanks
john1412

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote