Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Organic gardening in Ireland / Alternative and Sustainable Gardening practices

Compost Bin Help

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Most Recent Posts More Rain
Last post: Micks Garden
Tis late
Last post: tagwex
Planning the garden jobs month by month - APRIL
Are you a forum moderator?

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
davidk
Rank attained: Rowan Tree

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 4:20 pm    Post subject: Compost Bin Help Reply with quote

As I am new to gardening I will need to install a compost bin. I have an old wheelie bin and was thinking of making one out of it.
Should I drill plenty of holes in the side and top?
Should the bottom be open to the soil or not?
I will be cutting a small hatch at the bottom to remove the compost when it is ready.
Any info would be great.

Dave
Greengage
Rank attained: Chlorophyll for blood

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How about this one im going to have a go later.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5i-Qe75-DDQ
davidk

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wonder if the tumbler type is better than the stand alone one.
energise
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The bottom should definitely be open to the soil cause it let's organisms in at the compost. It wouldn't do any harm to drill a few holes but don't go overboard with them or the compost will dry out. Tumbler bins are probably quite although I've never used one. I've seen then them on sale in woodies but they were a bit small for my needs. There's a website called originalorganics.co.uk that sells different types of bins
tippben