Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Perennials, Ferns and Ornamental grasses

dividing bananas?

Most Recent Posts Huge storm takes out Sequoia
Last post: Sue Deacon
Indoor sowing.
Last post: Sue Deacon
At last! A garden joke. (except maybe it's not a joke!)
Last post: Ado 2
No Herbicide please
Last post: Greengage

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
toddy
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2012 5:21 pm    Post subject: dividing bananas? Reply with quote

Hi all,

I am a newbie in gardening as on this forum, and I would very much appreciate your help.
A couple of month ago my friend got me a banana plant on special buy (no label though). The plant had three stems, and I divided them into three pots. They grew fantastic and produced each another stem.
Now, as I have taken them inside for the winter, they start shooting again.

Should I divide further or let it grow as nature intended? One pot has now 4 stems, which seems a bit much.

At the moment, taking the shoots out or dividing the plant further seems easy enough; but what once it is growing to big to lift every time a shoot appears?

Thank you very much for your advice
t.

1 whole plant - small.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  574.14 KB
 Viewed:  2913 Time(s)

1 whole plant - small.jpg

3 shoot - small.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  654.05 KB
 Viewed:  2913 Time(s)

3 shoot - small.jpg

Greengage
Rank attained: Chlorophyll for blood

PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2012 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

that is a yucca an indoor house plant. They usually arrive into holland as a cane, they are then planted up maybe one per pot or usually three.