Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Shrubs in Ireland ... Hedging in Ireland

hedge that won't need maintenance

Most Recent Posts ID please
Last post: Docter Robert
Garden Makeover- absolute beginner
Last post: tippben
...What did you do Today...
Last post: tagwex
ID for tree?
Last post: Sue Deacon

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
El Kabong!
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 2:33 pm    Post subject: hedge that won't need maintenance Reply with quote

Hi,

I have acquired a smallholding of 4.5 acres.

I have a number of projects lined up and my whole life to do them!

I have just planted .25 acres of willow and it is doing well, and I intend to plant another .75

I have also started planting an orchard
I also have bee hives and I intend to move them out there and expand.

Lots of other ideas too.

Now this is all grass at the moment and I have a tractor and mower to keep on top of it.

But what I want to do is plant hedging here and there, preferably native, to break the place up a bit and not have it as one massive allotment.

I'm wondering can somebody recommend hedging to me that will not need much maintenance. I would view having alot of hedging as yet another project that encourages wildlife.

But there is a lot of work in maintaining all these projects so if I could find a hedge that doesn't get too wild or spread too much that would be great.

Is there anything that will not get too wide for instance? Because if I plant up an avenue of hedges, and it grows too wide, then it is hard to get the tractor down the middle to cut the grass etc etc...

Or if it get too high then it blocks out light

I don't really want to spend my summers cutting it all back.