Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Introduce yourself to the rest of the Irish gardeners

Hello - new vegan gardener on board :)

Most Recent Posts Hello
Last post: Sue Deacon
What is this plant please
Last post: Sue Deacon
Amelanchier
Last post: Good guy
Prime Seaweed (Availability) Conditions?
Last post: Gautama

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
Corky
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2012 10:40 pm    Post subject: Hello - new vegan gardener on board :) Reply with quote

Hi there,
I'm a complete and utter newbie when it comes to gardening, but any time I do a web search I end up here so I thought I should bite the bullet and sign up Smile

Before now, my sum total of knowledge has come from the odd basil plant on the window sill, so I'll have a load of daft questions.

We live in Cork and have just got a new 8m x 3.5m polytunnel and have put some tomato, pepper, chili and basil plants in there, but will be looking to expand the range of plants in there - I was disappointed that my Google searching showed that Avocados grow on 20m tall trees Smile

I'm sure that being vegan will cause a bit of head-scratching when looking for solutions as some of the more common fertilizers and compost ingredients will be ruled out.

Anyway, on to the rest of the forum to begin my daft questions!

Cheers.
tippben
Rank attained: Vegetable garden tender

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2012 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oho! This'll be fun! Fertilizing and soil improvement can be done using green manure, nettle/comfrey feed, and homemade compost/leaf mould. You'll presumably avoid animal manure and any artificial fertilizer (animal testing).