Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Vegetable growing, fruit and allotments in Ireland

First year planting fruit & Veg and looking for help

Most Recent Posts Happy Christmas
Last post: Sue Deacon
Just saying.............
Last post: vulkan
Planning the garden jobs month by month - DECEMBER
Last post: tagwex
Rocks in troughs.
Last post: tagwex

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
onemanorthree
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 3:53 pm    Post subject: First year planting fruit & Veg and looking for help Reply with quote

HI All,

It's my first year grown fruit and veg outside a greenhouse and I'm looking for some advice on which plants I should plant together in the same beds.
I am used to growing tomatoes and chilies with decent success.

Outside of the greenhouse I have have two raised beds, approx' 1 meter by 1 meter that I'v filled with a mixture of homemade compost and
store bought general compost. I plan t grow about 6 different varieties of veg in these: Onions, leeks, fennel, broccoli, lettuce, peas, & herbs.
I am stuck on which to grow beside each other and am worried about crop rotation next year.
I also plan to plant potatoes in the small amount of plantable garden we have and grow carrots in containers.

I'm growing fruit and a few other veg in pots and containers around the garden. Currently I have courgettes, garlic, broad-beans,
raspberries, gooseberries, Blueberries, strawberries, a pear tree and two settled production apples trees (inherited from previous house owner).

My first question, and there may be many, is which plants should I plant beside each other in the bed?