Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Irish Trees & other trees grown in Ireland

Beech Tree cut back

Most Recent Posts Christmas reading.
Last post: Greengage
2016 Vegetable quizz.
Last post: Greengage
At last! A garden joke. (except maybe it's not a joke!)
Last post: Sue Deacon
Skimmia seed wanted
Last post: Brendankearns

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
poggo
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 6:49 pm    Post subject: Beech Tree cut back Reply with quote

Hello all i am a newbie here and have a question, I hope this topic has not been coverd before, I have read Jame's post about the laws covering the felling of trees and i understand that. I am lucky enough to have aquired a Cottage in rural Kildare with half acre whose boundries are coverd with mature trees all beautiful as they have not been touched for many years. My problem is that on one side near the house are 3 trees 2 Beechs and one chestnut, the diameter of the Beechs is 7 foot and the chestnut is 8 foot they are over 80 foot tall, the chestnut I have no problem with cutting back as i have done this before, but I have been told that cutting back Beech this size can have dire conquenses. So this is my question, when is the best time to do this??is the cutting the same as for other trees???
tippben
Rank attained: Vegetable garden tender

PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote