Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Vegetable growing, fruit and allotments in Ireland

Swiss chard - has it bolted?

Most Recent Posts funny
Last post: Sue Deacon
Skimmia seed wanted
Last post: Brendankearns
At last! A garden joke. (except maybe it's not a joke!)
Last post: Ado 2
2016 Vegetable quizz.
Last post: Greengage

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
eris
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:44 pm    Post subject: Swiss chard - has it bolted? Reply with quote

Hi - This is my first time growing swiss chard and this is how it looks (see pic.), with leaves growing off a central stem. It looks nothing like the picture on the pack, where it grows low and has red stems and veins. The variety is Galaxy from Gro-sure, supposedly with 'guaranteed results.' Has it bolted and if it has, can anyone explain why?

Also it has been invaded by some bug which has left two or three little maggots on many leaves, which they've eaten in part. (See other pic.)

Swiss chard.jpg
 Description:
Swiss chard plants
 Filesize:  588.54 KB
 Viewed:  2530 Time(s)

Swiss chard.jpg

Swiss chard damage by parasite.jpg
 Description:
This shows the sort of damage the bug is causing.
 Filesize:  40.01 KB
 Viewed:  2530 Time(s)

Swiss chard damage by parasite.jpg

tippben
Rank attained: Vegetable garden tender

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2011 4:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote