Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Irish Trees & other trees grown in Ireland

Grafting

Most Recent Posts funny
Last post: tagwex
Skimmia seed wanted
Last post: Brendankearns
At last! A garden joke. (except maybe it's not a joke!)
Last post: Ado 2
2016 Vegetable quizz.
Last post: Greengage

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
Francis
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2011 11:08 pm    Post subject: Grafting Reply with quote

Hello;
- This is my first time on this site. I'm writing from New-Brunswick Canada.

- I'm not very knowleageable in horticultal.

- My inquire is as follow: I have a mature ( 6 meters, or 20 ft) Austrian pine that is somewhat bear on the lower part of one side. I would hope to transfer 2 or 3 branches by grafting.

I was hoping to cut theses branches (initially one) from the fuller side and graft them into the trunk , on the other side of the tree. I was considering drilling a hole in the trunk approx. 2 '' deep to accept the branch that is approx. 2 cm (3/4 '') thick. and 20 '' long.

What are the chances of this succeeding?
tippben
Rank attained: Vegetable garden tender

PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2011 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote