Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Irish Weeds & Pests and Diseases of the garden.

Unknown Beetle eating my pear tree leaves

Most Recent Posts Beech Head leaf browning issue
Last post: SeanOChuinn
Is this Spiraea japonica
Last post: Keeks
Small lawn advice please
Last post: Greengage
Whats this.
Last post: Silver surfer

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
Strangegravy
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 12:27 am    Post subject: Unknown Beetle eating my pear tree leaves Reply with quote

Hi.

I'm only new to gardening and I'm attempting to espalier pear trees on my back wall, the first leaves are just starting to emerge after the first cut, and I found this little guy nibbling away on my them.

I can't seem to find a proper picture online to match up and get info on him, he's probably very common but as I said I'm new to this game.

Should I be worried more of them attacking the trees? Or what can I do to prevent it?

I've attached a pic of him for identification.

Thanks in advance.

Strangegravy

Beetle.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  66.8 KB
 Viewed:  12233 Time(s)

Beetle.jpg

Margo
Rank attained: Chlorophyll for blood

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That looks very much to me like a Vine Weevil. They are horrible things and their larva white grubs) eat all roots and shoots especially fuschias etc.
Strangegravy

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 11:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply..