Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Shrubs in Ireland ... Hedging in Ireland

hedging help

Most Recent Posts can anyone identify this
Last post: Sue Deacon
...What did you do Today...
Last post: Sue Deacon
Garlic problem
Last post: Greengage
funny
Last post: ponddigger

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
lillydee
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2011 5:46 pm    Post subject: hedging help Reply with quote

Hi guys, I'm a hedging/gardening novice and am interested in planting a hedge at the front of our property. It would be a good distance from the house. The purpose of the hedge would be for screening and also more importantly to attract wildlife. I want to encourage as many bees, butterflies and birds into the garden as possible and am also interested in conservation. The hedge would be aprox. 25m. I have some plant suggestions below I would love to hear any opinions on them, positive and negative. Would it be possible to add all of these suggestions into the 'hedge' or would it look strange? I thought it might be interesting to add a few tall trees to create interest/ height difference. (e.g. Wild Service/Chequer Tree and the oak). But would they create too much of a shadow over the rest of the plants?

- PYRACANTHA Saphyr Red
- Blackthorn Prunus Spinosa
- ESCALLONIA Donard Radiance
- PYRACANTHA coccinea Red
- Common Whitebeam Sorbus Aria
- Alder Buckthorn Rhamnus Frangula
- PRUNUS spinosa
- ILEX aquifolium
- Common Dogwood Cornus Sanguinea
- Common Privet Ligustrum Vulgare
- Goat Willow Salix Caprea
- Wild Service or Chequer Tree Sorbus Torminalis
- COTONEASTER dammeri Coral
- HEBE Great
- FAGUS sylvatica
- Sessile Oak Quercus Petraea

Thanks! Smile
Sive