Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Irish Lawns and grass care

Getting the best from what i have.

Most Recent Posts funny
Last post: tagwex
Skimmia seed wanted
Last post: Brendankearns
At last! A garden joke. (except maybe it's not a joke!)
Last post: Ado 2
2016 Vegetable quizz.
Last post: Greengage

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
St Andrew
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2011 2:26 pm    Post subject: Getting the best from what i have. Reply with quote

Please some advice for a total novice.

I bought a new house last year but it had been sitting empty for about a year and a half and for the past year we have been concentrating on the inside rather than outside.

As we have a young son running around...and another on the way im not too keen on sowing a new lawn, i do plan to sow new lawn out the front as its only a very small strip.

The back garden is another story, i have put down a weed and moss killer which has done a decent job, the moss has been removed and most of the weeds are gone. Im looking for advice on how to deal with these large "clumps" of grass where the blades are almost like ribbons, also the ground is not that even i dont want it to look like a billiard table but flatter would be nice! I have sown grass seed where i have raked out all of the dead moss and i used a fork to aeriate the lawn (how far apart should fork holes be with one another). I have some nice green shoots showing now but i still think it could be better. If you need me load any pics to show you what im dealing thats not a problem as i would all the help i can get.

Thanks

Andy
michael brenock
Rank attained: Chlorophyll for blood