Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Container gardening in Ireland, including Annual Bedding Plants

container plant beginner - fruit, soil and bulbs

Most Recent Posts ...What did you do Today...
Last post: tagwex
Garden Makeover- absolute beginner
Last post: Sue Deacon
ID for tree?
Last post: Sue Deacon
What is this plant guys
Last post: lammax

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
Tulip19
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 12:45 pm    Post subject: container plant beginner - fruit, soil and bulbs Reply with quote

Hi everyone,
I'm very new to all this but I just miss having a garden so I have started to grow flowers, herbs and a small fruit tree in containers. I had two beginners questions and would appreciate any advice you might have.

As for my fruit tree, a red currant (Jonkheer van Tets); it is planted in a container in regular tree&shrub soil, but I was wonderin what sort of soil & fertilizer I should be adding to get my tree to grow properly and develop fruit?

I also have a container with red kale + daffodils and one with vaccinium with tulips; in both cases I was wondering what to do with the bulbs when the flowers whither? I read that daffodils should be left for a few weeks and can be left in the soil for next year, but can I plant summer flowering bulbs beside them (or would that overload the pot)?
And what about the tulips? Should I dig them up (and store them) and just plant summer flowering in their place to keep my containers flowering?

Sorry for the overload, but I hope someone can help me out:) Thanks in advance!
breezyacre
Rank attained: Silver Birch Tree

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote