Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Irish Weeds & Pests and Diseases of the garden.

Escallonia disease

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Most Recent Posts 2016 Vegetable quizz.
Last post: Greengage
At last! A garden joke. (except maybe it's not a joke!)
Last post: Sue Deacon
Skimmia seed wanted
Last post: Brendankearns
funny
Last post: tagwex

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
Brian2011
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 8:04 am    Post subject: Escallonia disease Reply with quote

Hi There...This is my first post yay! Very Happy ...I was recommended to contact this site by a couple of avid gardners. I'm a biologist with Teagasc Horticultural research in Kinsealy, Dublin and I'm currently working on a disease affecting Escallonia species in Ireland. I was wondering if anyone here has had a leaf spot disease on their Escallonia and if they could send me a pic or even better, send me a couple of leaf samples in the post? It would greatly help in solving a growing problem.
My Contact Details are:
Brian McGuinness
Plant Pathology
Teagasc
Kinsealy Horticultural Research Centre
Malahide Road
Dublin 17
p.s. I've cleared this request with admin!
Sive
Rank attained: Chlorophyll for blood

PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Brian, yes, we have had this problem with a new escallonia hedge for the last couple of years. I will send you samples..... if I can find appropriate leaves (!)....one of the problems is that the escallonias progressively lose their leaves, so the hedge is looking quite bare at the moment.
Brian2011

PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 10:26 am    Post subject: Thx Reply with quote