Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Vegetable growing, fruit and allotments in Ireland

Large Pear tree - pruning & recepies

Most Recent Posts can anyone identify this
Last post: Sue Deacon
...What did you do Today...
Last post: Sue Deacon
Garlic problem
Last post: Greengage
funny
Last post: ponddigger

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
julesDUB
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 1:43 pm    Post subject: Large Pear tree - pruning & recepies Reply with quote

Hello

I'm new to gardening and I have a very large mature pear tree in my back garden.

This tree is producing hundreds of pears and last year (and this) I had to throw away most of them - well actually I composted then so they're not totally goping to waste

I have a couple of questions regarding -

the tree is maybe 30 - 40 feet high with large clusters of fruit very high up - what's the best way to get these - let them fall?
when can I prune this and how savage can I be - I just want it to block out the view of the house behind me - any tips to books or techniques on pruning would also be apreciated as I intend to do it myself
Finally - anybody got any good ideas on what to do with all these pears - preferably that doesn't involve peeling them Very Happy

thanks

Julian
Daithic

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Julian, You can buy a fruit picker with a telescopic handle that can reach the topmost fruit. This is a device that looks like a fishing net but more robust and some come with a scissors-like device that can be operated by a string in the handle. They vary in expense from €20 to however fancy you want to get! Here is a picture of one....