Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Irish Trees & other trees grown in Ireland

Moving a house grown Catalpa outside

Most Recent Posts What is this plant guys
Last post: Bill2015
Anyone know what this is called
Last post: Black&Amber
re potato spraying
Last post: tagwex
Broad bean question.
Last post: mange tout

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
AtomicOrbital
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 1:26 pm    Post subject: Moving a house grown Catalpa outside Reply with quote

Hi there,

I have no experience with gardening. I got a catalpa tree as a present. It was just a stick about 22 inches long with a small root system. Shortly after I planted it in a pot in my hall about March 2010 it got broken to 12". With some careful pruning it suddenly shot up and now (july) it's about 4+ foot tall with some huge leaves. It's of great sentimental value to me now due to the day it started to bud.

I think it's time to move it outside. I'd like to get it planted in the ground. However, although the weather is quite mild I've been trying to move it out but even in gentle wind it's huge leaves (8" to 10" in size) are acting like sails and I'm afraid it's going to get broken. I'm happy to keep it in a pot until a better planting time like October.

Should I stake it with Bamboo or something? Should I keep in it a tiny 3 sided alcove between a bay window and side wall that gets sun for half the day but is quite sheltered? Our should I pop it out on the patio and hope for the best. (My Acer Palmatum doesn't do too good there tho). And finally... Will it survive an Irish winter? I'd hate to loose it and would love some practical advice.

catalpa2.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  54.44 KB