Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Vegetable growing, fruit and allotments in Ireland

Advice needed re Tomatoes, and Strawberries

Most Recent Posts 2016 Vegetable quizz.
Last post: Greengage
funny
Last post: tagwex
Skimmia seed wanted
Last post: Brendankearns
At last! A garden joke. (except maybe it's not a joke!)
Last post: Ado 2

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
Jerrymc
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 9:39 am    Post subject: Advice needed re Tomatoes, and Strawberries Reply with quote

I am a complete novice. I built a Polytunnel about a month ago, and have planted a sample of many fruit and veg. The tunnell is 20ft by 10 ft, and I have raised beds inside, with very good soil, mixed with a little sand, and horse manure. I have planted, Tomatoes, Strawberries, Lettuce, Cabbage, Brussels Sprouts, Parsley, Onions sets, and Rhubarb. Everything is growing, ...but now I really dont know how to ensure that I am doing the correct thing with them. I have inserted canes alongside the Tomatoes, and have supported them with little plastic ties.Is this sufficient???

My strawberries have Flowered, and I can now see fruit starting. The are very low [close to the soil], and the fruit is hanging down. Will this result in rotten fruit???. Also, I planted them close to the Tomatoes. And now someone told me that I should not have done this.

Any advice the you folks can give about anything that I planted, will be most welcome
Digger Dan

PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jerrymc,