Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Vegetable growing, fruit and allotments in Ireland

Do I really need to wait a year for my rhubarb?

Most Recent Posts Is this a Verbascum
Last post: Margo
Announcement: Free Bloom 2017 tickets for three lucky members.
Last post: James Kilkelly
Compost question
Last post: Sue Deacon
Gathering your own horse manure
Last post: mange tout

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
poisonivy
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 1:29 pm    Post subject: Do I really need to wait a year for my rhubarb? Reply with quote

Apart from a few potted vegetables I'm new to the whole gardening thing. I recently moved into a house with a garden from an apartment so I'm in my element planting what veg I can. I bought a rhubarb plant the other day and planted it in a nice sunny spot in the garden, after a bit of research I see that I'm meant to leave the plant for a year to establish itself before harvesting. There's already a few lovely stalks on the plant and I was looking forward to rhubarb this year. I also don't know whether I'll be in the house next year so it seems a bit of a waste not to harvest it. Is it absolutely imperative? And if it is, what exactly do I do with the stalks/leaves that grow? Just leave them there? Thanks in advance!
Belfast
Rank attained: Sessile Oak Tree
Rank attained: Sessile Oak Tree

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How to Grow Rhubarb in Irelands Vegetable Gardens
"Days to Maturity