Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Irish Trees & other trees grown in Ireland

Most durable native trees to plant from seed

Most Recent Posts funny
Last post: tagwex
2016 Vegetable quizz.
Last post: tagwex
At last! A garden joke. (except maybe it's not a joke!)
Last post: kindredspirit
oops
Last post: Margo

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
Yew Too
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:42 pm    Post subject: Most durable native trees to plant from seed Reply with quote

Hello all,

First off, I'm a total novice to gardening/forestry.I'm planning to plant trees from seed in Dublin, Wicklow and Wexford in a variety of different habitats. I won't be able to put in a lot of time monitoring these trees and I won't be scarifying or stratifying the seeds in advance.

What's the best tree to plant that does not need a lot of TLC and can survive and thrive without external assistance? I know that it really depends on soil, drainage etc so all advice is welcome.

I think that Willow could be good, but I would like some other options.

Thanks
Belfast
Rank attained: Sessile Oak Tree
Rank attained: Sessile Oak Tree

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What area of tree do you wan to plant?
What is the purpose of the trees?
fuel?
decorative?
shelter?

Do you plan on doing any other gardening in the same area or just grow trees?

Is there a limit on the size of trees you want ( are the near houses)?
Yew Too

PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply and apologies for the delay in mine.I guess I should have been a bit more informative in my original post.

to answer your questions.