Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Vegetable growing, fruit and allotments in Ireland

How are your potatoes cropping ?

Most Recent Posts oops
Last post: kindredspirit
funny
Last post: kindredspirit
2016 Vegetable quizz.
Last post: Margo
Skimmia seed wanted
Last post: Brendankearns

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
Foxylock
Rank attained: Sessile Oak Tree

PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 8:30 pm    Post subject: How are your potatoes cropping ? Reply with quote

As this is my first year growing spuds I had probably unrealistic expectations of the potato crop. However it's the darn slugs that have me really fed up they have definitely destroyed one third of the crop and had a nibble on nearly all the rest Mad Does anyone else have a major slug problem ? What varieties of spud are you growing and how are they doing ? I grew Maris Peers for the earlies and they were a smashing spud, I have a maincrop called Cara and although they have been devastated the ones that survived were quite nice, so one drill of King Edwards left and I wait with bated breath and hopeful enthusiasm that them little slippery devils haven't beat me to another meal.
michael brenock
Rank attained: Chlorophyll for blood

PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2009 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote