Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Vegetable growing, fruit and allotments in Ireland

Storing Potatoes

Most Recent Posts New use for old tyres
Last post: tagwex
Quiet times
Last post: Good guy
At last! A garden joke. (except maybe it's not a joke!)
Last post: Sue Deacon
Creamy Roasted Garlic and Mushroom Soup
Last post: Sue Deacon

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
treascon09
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 2:56 pm    Post subject: Storing Potatoes Reply with quote

Hi everyone, This is my first post so hope i get it right.
Anyway this is my first year to sow a garden since i was a child and im absolutely amazed how the weeds can grow so fast.... I sowed about 15 rows of potatoes 15m long, different varieties and so far have been eating the early british queens. The rest of the rows are a mess now with weeds! They totally got ahead of me. (see pic)
Im thinking of just cutting off the stalks and digging them all up but im wondering whats the best way to store them. Or is this the right thing to do? Also i think a few stalkes got blight, ( must have missed them with the spray. burgandy mix). Basically im lookin for any help or advise i can get!!

16082009030.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  61.22 KB
 Viewed:  6689 Time(s)

16082009030.jpg

16082009031.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  63.8 KB
 Viewed:  6688 Time(s)

16082009031.jpg

stoneygardens

PostPosted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 9:29 pm    Post subject: help Reply with quote

hi
stick with it