Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Vegetable growing, fruit and allotments in Ireland

july august planting

Most Recent Posts oops
Last post: Margo
funny
2016 Vegetable quizz.
Skimmia seed wanted
Last post: Brendankearns

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
walshep
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 4:40 pm    Post subject: july august planting Reply with quote

This is my first year veg gardening (with great success!) But now I'm thinking forward towards winter veg. What should I be putting in for germination over the next couple of months. I hear Chinese cabbage do well. Where can I get seeds. Are there potatoes I can sow now for winter harvest. All advice an tips gratefully received Patrick
Sean Ph'lib
Rank attained: Ash Tree
Rank attained: Ash Tree

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The most important thing to sow now (or in the next couple of weeks) is the seed of Spring Cabbage. Any of the many varieties will do - Flower of Spring, April, Durham Early, Wheeler's Imperial etc. I'm sowing mine this week in trays; I prick them out into modules when they're big enough, and pot them up into individual 4" pots later on. I plant them out then as ground becomes available, any time before mid-September. You'll be eating them from next March onwards. You can also sow late carrots - Autumn King is a good variety. And you can also plant out leeks and Winter Cabbage now (if you can get the plants).
James Kilkelly

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 8:04 pm    Post subject: Re: july august planting Reply with quote

walshep wrote:
I hear Chinese cabbage do well. Where can I get seeds.