Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Vegetable growing, fruit and allotments in Ireland

collecting your own seed potatoes ?

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Most Recent Posts Cleaaning polytunels/greenhouses.
Last post: tagwex
I'm new here
Hi, guy here trying to grow stuff in a tunnel
Introduce yoursellf to whom.......................

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
windy
Rank attained: Hawthorn Tree

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 9:15 pm    Post subject: collecting your own seed potatoes ? Reply with quote

Hi all, can anyone advise about keeping some small potatoes from the bags the wife gets in the supermarket and using them as seed pops. I'm new to veg growing and just wondering if its possible or just a waist of time to go down that road. Any views or experiences gratefully received
Thanks
f&vlady
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Windy, I'm a total novice at this veg growing too! I planted Roosters in bags and raised bed, they were from shop bought bags, and they seem to be doing ok thankfully but I didn't know they were what's called a main crop so will have to wait awhile yet to see if I actually have proper spuds!. So fingers crossed, will let you know how they turn out.
Liparis
Rank attained: Orchard owner

PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2009 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote