Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Vegetable growing, fruit and allotments in Ireland

Do you grow herbs?

Most Recent Posts greenhouse heating help needed
Last post: TMAK
Artificial lawn
Last post: leslie Wylie
hello everyone
Last post: cravings
Free Carbons
Last post: Micks Garden

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
red robin
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 9:11 pm    Post subject: Do you grow herbs? Reply with quote

Do you grow herbs and what do you use them for.
I am a beginner gardener and would like to try and be as self sufficient as possible. What are the basic herbs to try first and what can I use them for..
Sive
Rank attained: Chlorophyll for blood

PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 10:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi red robin. I suggest you start with chives....buy a pot in the supermarket and split it into four clumps and plant them. You'll get lovely purple flowers ( which you can put into salads! ) Snip the leaves and put them into salads....they're lovely in a potato salad.... or use them as a garnish on soups. They have a lovely mild oniony flavour. When the flowers fade and the leaves lose their freshness, just cut them all down to the ground and you'll soon have lovely fresh ones again. Dead easy!
wireworm

PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:52 am    Post subject: Don't use supermarket herbs Reply with quote

I find that they have been forced too quickly and don't do well when planted out. Your local garden centre should have a selection of herbs-rosemary and mint are easy to grow.
Garlicbreath
Rank attained: Silver Birch Tree
Rank attained: Silver Birch Tree

PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote