Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Vegetable growing, fruit and allotments in Ireland

Doomed spuds??

Most Recent Posts oops
Last post: kindredspirit
funny
Last post: kindredspirit
2016 Vegetable quizz.
Last post: Margo
Skimmia seed wanted
Last post: Brendankearns

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
f&vlady
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 3:47 pm    Post subject: Doomed spuds?? Reply with quote

Hello there, I'm new to site and new to veggie growing, my first attempt at spuds and think maybe I've made a boo boo lol Embarassed .I have some set in bags with compost a la Monty Don and some set in raised bed a la me, loads of foliage but no flowers yet, all were chitted and set about mid Feb but have seen posts re seed potatoes, I just used ordinary supermarket spuds(roosters), nearly sure Monty said in vid any spud will do, are my spuds doomed?? do I chuck them or persist in hope? oh and could someone tell me what BBCode is and what does it do? Confused Thank you
Liparis
Rank attained: Orchard owner

PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've never discovered why in all my years, but in some years no flowers appear on the spuds. Sometimes if you look carefully you will see tiny buds forming then they just vanish. You can still see the tiny stems on close inspection where the buds were. Other years flowers are found in abundance. So, I wouldn't think your spuds are doomed due to lack of flowers, possibly the opposite.