Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Shrubs in Ireland ... Hedging in Ireland

Overhanging plants from Neighbours garden

Most Recent Posts Garden Makeover- absolute beginner
Last post: tagwex
ID for tree?
Last post: Sue Deacon
What is this plant guys
Last post: lammax
Cats and Gardening
Last post: lammax

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
Topgal
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 1:56 pm    Post subject: Overhanging plants from Neighbours garden Reply with quote

Hi all,

I wonder if someone could advice me if there is a law /Act with regard to overhanging plants/trees from neighbours gardens into your garden.

My neighbours plants/tree have grown over into my garden. I called into my neighbour and asked her to kindly cut back her tree/plants but was met with the response " I don't have the money"........... subsequently she did cut some of the tree but left all the cuttings on my lawn.

This morning she kindly disposed of the cutting - but i have since discovered the cuttings were placed in MY BROWN BIN........... I would like to be clear as to who is responsible for cutting and disposing of overhanging plants /trees belonging to neighbours.

All advice would be most appreciated. Thanks !
Michael196
Rank attained: Silver Birch Tree
Rank attained: Silver Birch Tree

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi

Coming from a farming background, this is what I understand applies:

If the root is in your neighbours, then the plant belongs to your neighbour.

However my understanding is that you do have the right to cut back overhangs into your space, without seeking permission.