Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Bulbs in Irelands Gardens

Planting drifts of spring bulbs under trees...help!

Most Recent Posts Christmas reading.
Last post: Greengage
2016 Vegetable quizz.
Last post: Greengage
At last! A garden joke. (except maybe it's not a joke!)
Last post: Sue Deacon
Skimmia seed wanted
Last post: Brendankearns

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
Sive
Rank attained: Chlorophyll for blood

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 1:19 pm    Post subject: Planting drifts of spring bulbs under trees...help! Reply with quote

I have recently planted a small grove of trees, mainly birches. I like the idea of a mass of spring bulbs in that area, but I have never tried this before and am wondering how to maintain such a planting scheme.
If I sow grass as well, when/how can I cut the grass, remembering you have to let daffodils die right down before clearing the dead foliage ???
If I don't sow grass, will it be worse, giving me a permanent battle with weeds?
Would it be better if I sowed wild-flower seed to take over in the summer?
I need help please!
Liparis
Rank attained: Orchard owner

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote