Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Vegetable growing, fruit and allotments in Ireland

New allotment, where do I start.

Most Recent Posts funny
Last post: tagwex
Skimmia seed wanted
Last post: Brendankearns
At last! A garden joke. (except maybe it's not a joke!)
Last post: Ado 2
2016 Vegetable quizz.
Last post: Greengage

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
sharonl
Rank attained: Hawthorn Tree

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2009 1:23 pm    Post subject: New allotment, where do I start. Reply with quote

Hi all,

I just signed the lease for our new allotment!! yay!! but being a complete newbie at the allotment lark I'm not entirely sure where to begin. The ground has been rotorvated and thats pretty much it. We will mark out beds over next week but I'm not entirely sure about the extend of further digging, if any is needed. I would have thought we need to fork in some manure/fertilizer into the ground in the beds (except carrot bed) and keep raking it until we get a nice fine level bed? would this sound about right, apologies for the complete basicness (Idon't think thats even a word!) but I know a good bit about planting the vegetables and have always grown my own on a small scale in containers but when it comes to large scale I'm afraid the details stump me a bit in preparing the ground. I have a picture of the site as is at the moment on the blog I've set up for our plot, but I'm not sure if we can post up blog addresses, perhaps the moderators could confirm? and if so I'll post up the address and maybe somebody could tell me the best way to proceed with preparing the beds.

Thanks
sharon
Liparis
Rank attained: Orchard owner