Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Vegetable growing, fruit and allotments in Ireland

Moving seedlings from sunroom to plastic greenhouse

Most Recent Posts oops
Last post: kindredspirit
funny
Last post: kindredspirit
2016 Vegetable quizz.
Last post: Margo
Skimmia seed wanted
Last post: Brendankearns

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
Amsterdam
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 7:40 am    Post subject: Moving seedlings from sunroom to plastic greenhouse Reply with quote

Hi I'm a total beginner when it comes to gardening I've about 6 propagtion trays with seedlings well and truly up including runner beans tomatoes, red cabbage also sunflowers and pumpkins. Now they are in heaven at the moment as they are in my sun room with a rad under neath them. I just acquired a plastic greenhouse/tent thing I'm sure there is a correct name for it but my concern is that my little seedlings have been spoilt with heat in the sun room will i kill them by moving them outside.

I really want my sun room back! How do I make the most of my greenhouse.
Liparis
Rank attained: Orchard owner

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 8:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would suspect you certainly have spoilt your seedlings.
Never germinate seeds above a radiator, they dry out fast and need to be watered more, this can lead to great fluctuations between wet & dry. OK, perhaps you got away with that this time but bare it in mind for future. Apart from that, the heat can be too much, excessive heat (above 15c - 17c) can make your seedlings leggy, making them very susceptable to stem-rot on transplanting.