Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Vegetable growing, fruit and allotments in Ireland

Is it too soon to sow my veg?

Most Recent Posts oops
Last post: kindredspirit
funny
Last post: kindredspirit
2016 Vegetable quizz.
Last post: Margo
Skimmia seed wanted
Last post: Brendankearns

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
michelle M
Rank attained: Rowan Tree

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 12:04 pm    Post subject: Is it too soon to sow my veg? Reply with quote

This is my first year sowing veg. I have built raised beds and now I am dying to get started. I'm sowing onions, carrots, cabbage, turnip and pea's. Sweet corn later. I've been reading all the topics here on rotation, which one's should be sown together or apart etc, now I want to sow!!!! Very Happy What about if we get more frost or are soil temp's high enough now. I need advice please.
I was also wondering about dwarf pea's, what height support do they need?
breezyacre
Rank attained: Silver Birch Tree

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.
Most of the above would be grown from seed which goes straight into its final growing place. I think it is still far too cold for seeds outdoors. You could safely wait till April or even the middle of April even. With regard to the cabbage; it is often sold as bare rooted plants or indeed as small plants in plugs. When you see them for sale will be a good indication to you as to when to plant. If you are growing these from seed as well I would wait until April also. Cabbage seeds can be sown in a seed bed and then transplanted to their final growing place when they are about 9 inches tall. Laughing

barremic