Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Shrubs in Ireland ... Hedging in Ireland

What type of hedge to sow.

Most Recent Posts Christmas reading.
Last post: Greengage
2016 Vegetable quizz.
Last post: Greengage
At last! A garden joke. (except maybe it's not a joke!)
Last post: Sue Deacon
Skimmia seed wanted
Last post: Brendankearns

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
squire1
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 3:02 pm    Post subject: What type of hedge to sow. Reply with quote

Hi newbie and gardening novice here looking for some advice. I've been keeping my eye on this site for a while as I knew the time would come when I would need some help. I've recently completed a new house and am getting around to landscaping about now.

I have approximately 200M of fencing on two sides of the site that needs hedge. I am lucky enough to have a site that has some well estabIished native trees already in place like silver birch, sycamore, oak and ash and some more I cant name so would rather use native Irish hedging and am tending towards whitethorn hedging although I know little about it. Beech is nice but there is a little bit too much of it around my area already. My requirement is to have a hedge that I can maintain at about 1.5M high, is easily maintained (trim once a year) and provides year round privacy. I've a couple of questions ye all might be able to help me with.

What alternatives could I consider?
Where would I go about sourcing good quality hedge? I'm in North Kildare.
What should I look out for to ensure the hedge I am buying is good quality?
What is the best time of year to plant?