Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Landscaping / Gardening Ireland, Overall discussion & Garden related News.

cost benefit of growing your own - comments sought...

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  
Most Recent Posts Christmas reading.
Last post: Greengage
2016 Vegetable quizz.
Last post: Greengage
At last! A garden joke. (except maybe it's not a joke!)
Last post: Sue Deacon
Skimmia seed wanted
Last post: Brendankearns

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
carissa
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:41 pm    Post subject: cost benefit of growing your own - comments sought... Reply with quote

Hi,
I'm a journalist writing a piece for the Independent on the cost benefit of growing your own fruit and veg. Appreciate gardening is also an enjoyable hobby but this is for the personal finance section so will need to focus on figures ie cost of seeds versus plants, yield from plants, price comparisons with shops etc.
Really appreciate any advice, comments etc. particularly from anyone who has ever calculated what they might be saving.
Also any useful advice for people who might be thinking of starting out.
Kind regards, Carissa
cooler
Rank attained: Sessile Oak Tree
Rank attained: Sessile Oak Tree

PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Help you do your job?? Will you help me by coming over and digging my veg garden?
janelee

PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not a good first post tbh carissa. cooler have you a spare fork I'll give you a hand. Razz
Sb
Rank attained: Silver Birch Tree

PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2008 11:24 pm    Post subject: Re: cost benefit of growing your own - comments sought... Reply with quote