Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Shrubs in Ireland ... Hedging in Ireland

Identifying a Shrub seen in SW Ireland

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
scentman
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 7:49 pm    Post subject: Identifying a Shrub seen in SW Ireland Reply with quote

Hello All! Greetings from Georgia, USA!

First a little background FWIW... I am a perfumer by trade, and thus when I travel I tend to sniff all sorts of plants, foods, and flowers wherever I am.

I was recently on vacation/holiday in southwest Ireland (Killarney, Dingle, Tralee) while I was there, I came across a tree/shrub that I liked the aroma of, but I have no idea what it is called. I have tried googling from my limited knowledge, but to no avail. Can anyone here help me to identify it?

The plant has shiny leaves, kind of like a holly, but without the spines on the edge. The plant was in bloom the first week of July this year (the wild fushia was also in bloom the same week) it has smallish 1-2" (about 2-5 cm) spikes of pinkish-red flowers that are quite fragrant. The fragrance reminds me of raspberries and heliotrope/play-doh. It was growing by the stone circle in Kenmare, and was also on the grounds of the Gallarus Oratory in Dingle. The specimin in Kenmare was only about 4' high (approx 1 m), while the one in Dingle was about 15' (approx 3m) high in a oval kind of shape.

Thanks in Advance
James Kilkelly

PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 10:26 pm    Post subject: Identifying a Shrub seen in SW Ireland - possible Escallonia Reply with quote

Hello Scentman.
It would be great to have your perfumery insight into plants that grow on this green isle.