Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Vegetable growing, fruit and allotments in Ireland

Tomatoes not peforming as well as previous years

Most Recent Posts funny
Last post: Sue Deacon
2016 Vegetable quizz.
Last post: Sue Deacon
oops
Last post: Margo
Skimmia seed wanted
Last post: Brendankearns

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
rayd
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 2:04 pm    Post subject: Tomatoes not peforming as well as previous years Reply with quote

Hi,

I have been growing tomatoes for circa 3 years now and the plants that I can't fit in my glasshouse (not the sunniest site by the way), I plant in 12'' pots and leave outside in a sunny area. In the past they always did ok but this year they grew about 1ft and died.

In addition, the tomato plants in the less sunny part of my glasshouse only yielded trusses in the upper parts of the plant with very little trusses on the rest of the plant. Also, some of the trusses haven't yet bore any fruit. Is all this because of the bad weather we have had here in Ireland this summer??

Thanks for any help here.

Regards
Michael196
Rank attained: Silver Birch Tree

PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2008 3:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep tomatoes just did not produce so far this year.

neither did plums or apples

I have lots of tomoatoes but they are all green . they are in a greenhouse.

for the first time this year i noticed a tomatoe plant that died, it had what i first thought looked like a mouse was knawing it, but turned out to be some disease at the stem base, which killed the plant. they were also about a foot tall.

the damp weather is not helping in disease control
Sb