Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Garden jobs wanted / Training periods required.

Horticulture Training

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
Rach
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2008 7:49 pm    Post subject: Horticulture Training Reply with quote

Hi All,

I am looking to do some horticulture training but am getting more confused by the minute! Confused

I am interested in orgainic gardening & sustainable planting etc..
I have an allotment so I know a good bit about veg and have designed a few gardens for friends including a sensory garden.
So I'm not a total beginner but I've a lot to learn.

I've talked to a few people from Teagasc, Blanchardstown IT but I've found it hard to get unbiaised advice.
Some people have said that Fetac awards are too basic, that RHS courses are not recognised in the business, on and on.

So, I'm a bit lost. I was looking for something in the Organic gardening line for maybe a year full time but open to all ideas.

Thanks very much.
Bye for now,
Rach
James Kilkelly

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 10:13 am    Post subject: Re: Horticulture Training Reply with quote

Rach wrote:

I've talked to a few people from Teagasc, Blanchardstown IT but I've found it hard to get unbiaised advice.
Some people have said that Fetac awards are too basic, that RHS courses are not recognised in the business, on and on.

Do you wish the training to be for your own knowledge, to use in your own garden Rach, or do you wish it to be it to be instead more marketable and look good on your resume.
Sounds like an interview, but what I am trying to say is where do you want to see the training taking you, what would you like to be doing horticulture-wise in 5-10 years.