Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Introduce yourself to the rest of the Irish gardeners

Hello! I am really new at this! :)

Most Recent Posts 2016 Vegetable quizz.
Last post: Greengage
At last! A garden joke. (except maybe it's not a joke!)
Last post: Sue Deacon
Skimmia seed wanted
Last post: Brendankearns
funny
Last post: tagwex

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
greenishthumb
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 5:27 pm    Post subject: Hello! I am really new at this! :) Reply with quote

Hello there! I am a relatively new gardener and I actually do have Irish roots, though I live in the US. I love spending time in the dirt, and would greatly appreciate any ideas or tips that anyone would offer me. The reason why I joined Irish Gardeners is because I found it while "Googling" a question that I had about my garlic plants... but I couldn't find the answer that I needed, so I signed up here so that I could ask it! Smile
My grandmother gave me a bucket full of garlic bulbs from her garden last year and I forgot to put them in the ground until this spring (about March, I think). I really didn't expect them to be alive, so I just planted them in my flower garden, hoping that maybe they would still be alive... Well, now I have 12 in. garlic shoots - about 20 plants I think - inside a 12 by 12 in. space. They are quite crammed, and I am wondering if I should move them, or transplant them, or just thin them out. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I am not sure if I am posting this question in the correct area, so I will probably copy it and paste it in another area as well. Thanks in advance to anyone who can help!
verge