Irish Gardeners Forum Home
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Custom Search

Weather Report /
Moon Phase for Ireland

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Irish Gardeners Forum Home -> Container gardening in Ireland, including Annual Bedding Plants

can i use polystyrene packaging for drainage in container?

Most Recent Posts Garlic problem
Last post: Greengage
funny
Last post: ponddigger
Introduce yoursellf to whom.......................
Last post: Keeks
I'm new here
Last post: tagwex

Visit TheGardenShop.ie
needtoknowhow
Rank attained: Hazel Tree

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 7:29 pm    Post subject: can i use polystyrene packaging for drainage in container? Reply with quote

Am a complete novice in the gardening world but have piles of enthusiasm!!

read the following article:

http://www.gardenplansireland.com/articles/article28.html

stating that for "container drainage, you should check your container for adequate drainage holes, If you have too few or no drainage holes at all then your plants may suffer from oxygen starvation due to excess water. To prevent drainage points becoming blocked with compost, I suggest placing a layer of broken terracotta or polystyrene bedding plant trays over the drainage holes. In fact broken polystyrene bedding plant trays can also be used to fill the main body of larger containers; this will reduce the amount of potting compost needed."

have 3 massive pots for outdoor which am planting with buxus and underplanting with annuals. have a pile of polystyrene packaging from moving in that's lying idle in the garage. can i use this for adequate drainage. broken up into chunks or should I just take the hammer to a terracotta pot?
foamcutter
Rank attained: Hawthorn Tree
Rank attained: Hawthorn Tree

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote